Hijab…The Beauty Within Modesty!

 السلام عليكم

Hey Lovelies! I hope you are all doing well. إن شاء الله

Seeing as this is my first blog it only made sense I shared my Hijab Story with you all. In the hope that I can inspire and encourage someone though my experience إن شاء الله‎.

 “Beauty is like sun, looks much better when covered with the clouds of modesty (Haya).” [Sheikh Waleed Basyouni]

As I sat down and attempted to write this several times, my mind was flooded with thoughts. The thought of my story not being impactful or inspirational, as some of the ones I have read. My story is not really anything out of the ordinary nor is it extravagant; it’s pretty simple. That being said lets dive right in.

Lets start with addressing the obvious question “What is Hijab”? Hijab means to veil, ‘something that covers or conceals completely’. Hijab is religiously mandated and is part of the Islamic tradition of dressing modestly. It is Important to note that modest dress and behavior is a divinely prescribed responsibility for both Muslim men and women. Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) described modesty as the distinctive quality of Islam. The Hijab is worn by Muslim women in front of men who are not close family members. There is often criticism that Hijab singles, women out or that it makes women responsible for compacting sexual objectification, rather than men. In reality the purpose of the Hijab is to shift focus away from women’s physical appearance towards her character and individuality.

In the west we see a growing trend of using Hijab to gain political points; the governments in France, Spain and Netherlands have passed various laws to limit the wearing of Hijab in public places. Wearing the Hijab does not prevent someone from being a good citizen; in fact Islam encourages people to work towards improving their societies and to be contributing members of their community.

If showing your body is right, why can’t dressing modestly also be right? Most people are unaware and are uneducated about the propose of the Hijab and why Muslims dress modestly because of this profound lack of knowledge and misunderstandings; a lot of stereotypes and misconceptions arise.

Growing up in a Muslim household, I was brought up with the basic, fundamental principles and values that Islam installs. I was taught to pray, to fast, to be generous and kind-hearted towards others.

The topic of Hijab and dressing modestly, occasionally popped up as a light dinner time conversation in my house; however it never was a forced topic. At the age of 11 I was explained, about what the Hijab was and importance of it. I was given the choice to decided, whether I was going to embrace the Hijab or not . Some of you are thinking surely it is a tough decision for a 11 year old to make at such as young age. Well let me tell you I’ve always been the curious type, I enjoy finding out information by myself it gives me a sense of accomplishment. So I began my own journey in the search to find out more about what Hijab is and why it is important. After a few months of researching I was finally ready to embrace the Hijab at the age of 12.

You might be thinking what made me want to wear the Hijab, well there was a number of reasons for my decision, but I think what really gave me the strength was the verse in Surah Al Baqarah (verse 286)

“Allah does not charge a soul except its capacity. It will have the consequence of what good it has gained, and it will bear the consequence of what evil it has earned. “Our Lord, do not impose blame upon us if we have forgotten or erred. Our Lord, and lay not upon us a burden like that which You laid upon those before us. Our Lord, and burden us not with that which we have no ability to bear. And pardon us; and forgive us; and have mercy upon us. You are our protector, so give us victory over the disbelieving people.”

These are the very words that gave me the courage to finally make the right choice. It was at that very moment I decided to wear the Hijab I knew Allah (swt) will guide me and give me the strength to do this.

I am extremely grateful to my parents for letting me make this decision on my own because it enabled me make my own choice it helped to me understand the true meaning of Hijab and why its so important. I’m glad I didn’t just wear the Hijab because my parents told me to wear it, but I’ve wore it for the right reasons and for the sake of Allah (swt).

Eight years has passed and my Hijab is my life! I feel naked without it. I feel people are more admirable of me instead of scornful and I feel like I earn the respect of men because of the way I conduct myself and guard my modesty. For me Hijab has always much more than a headscarf it represents modesty, purity, righteousness and protection but truly is the ultimate state of respect and liberation.

(P.S For those of you wondering I’m only 20 years old)

Jazak’Allah for reading.

© Hijabi-Online

98 thoughts on “Hijab…The Beauty Within Modesty!

Leave a Reply

