To The World That’s Quick To Judge.

What do you see when you look at me.
Do you see someone limited, controlled and uneducated.
Simply because you can’t see my hair.
I am sorry to inform you, you are wrong.
Yes I am a girl
BUT, No I’m not oppressed. I have opinions of my own and a voice.
Yes I cover my hair
BUT, No I’m not limited nor controlled or uneducated.
Yes I am a Muslim
BUT, No I’M NOT A terrorist.
You judge me based on how I look, Simply because you cannot see my hair.
You say you’re so thankful that you are not me, simply because you like to remain “free”.
Well free isn’t exactly the word I would use to describe the women who are cheated on and abused.
Let me tell you I am free, liberated and educated, but most importantly I  am and I forever will be a human being.
Don’t judge me based on what is on my head.
Get to know me first, before you assume. 

© Hijabi-Online
17 thoughts on “To The World That’s Quick To Judge.

  1. Hammad Rais says:

    Very nice and spot-on words. Entire riches of the world (gold, silver diamond and more) are covered upon layers and layers of earth. Just like those hidden riches, a woman is also very much valuable and she should keep herself and her dignity safe from the dirty hands of the world.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. awriterscauldron says:

    Beautifully worded and very powerful!
    Freedom is a state of mind. If you believe you ARE free, then there is no one there to stop you from whatever the hell you want to do. It is our own self who stops us from doing certain things because we are afraid of the consequences. And a cloth on the head may be a choice. Maybe someone’s personal sense of freedom.
    In short, loved this! ❤
    ~Diksha

    Liked by 4 people

  3. theonlysup says:

    what people think of u is none of ur business said a good man. you do ur best . do whts ethical and right according to your inner concise .. people are anyhow gonna judge .. forget the haters ..focus on ur deeds and dreams .
    cheers

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Patty says:

    Like it is your right to choose to cover your hair, it’s another woman’s right to wear a miniskirt.
    We shouldn’t judge each others cultural differences and yes, get to know each other and learn from one-another 😉
    Kind regards, from a neighbor on this globe.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Lucia R says:

    This is beautiful. It’s such a shame that people believe that all Muslims are terrorists, some are, but people need to stick in their pea-sized brains that there are so many people in the world that do bad things, and the majority wouldn’t be Muslim. Everyone needs to understand that different religions have different customs, different beliefs, and that none of those are wrong.

    Liked by 4 people

  6. tlryder says:

    We are all sending out a message with how we dress. These days it goes against the usual fashion to dress modestly. To me, that says: Here is a brave girl who knows her own mind, who honors herself, her culture, her religion. I’m sorry that some other people don’t see that.

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Thehungryballer says:

    True and powerful ! The whole notion of freedom has gone awry….
    People should understand that true freedom lies not in flowing with the social conventions but choosing what you like (like covering your head etc.) even if there wouldn’t be a ‘need’ according to society

    That’s true freedom ! To do what we like, know is right and against all odds

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

